Chain

I kept looking out of the window today, telling myself that all weather is good weather for photography. Faced with dull, dismal drizzle, I was having a hard time convincing myself..... and then I saw some wonderful shots of a particularly vibrant sunrise this morning - who could have believed it? - and I missed it!!! Ah, well - nothing for it but to face the gloom!

On the point of departure, the doorbell rang and I had the most lovely surprise! Family members who live in Spain (whom I knew were in England for the weekend but had told me they wouldn't be able to meet up) were there on the doorstep, telling me to put the kettle on! It was so lovely to see them!

By the time they had gone and I left the house it was almost dark, so another 'd' to add to the dull, dismal and drizzle..... I drove to the harbour (I can never resist the sea), then on to where the chain ferry crosses the harbour mouth. It was a bit breezy but not too cold and I enjoyed the sea air and watching the chain ferry. I only had the lightweight tripod with me, so it was struggling a bit to keep the camera steady in the wind but I liked this minimal shot of one of the chains. It was pretty much dark by this time (at the tail end of blue hour) so, yes, I have boosted the shadows and the whites significantly and the exposure a little. No need for a filter today in the darkness to get a long exposure - just a high f/stop.

Thanks you all so much for everything on yesterday's, 'Smooth Sea Syndrome' - you have been most generous and it is proving to be rather popular!


Happy Saturday evening, everyone!


Ann :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.