A Promising Start...But...

The day started off with a beautiful sunrise. This was taken from my conservatory overlooking the beautiful trees at the back of my house. I love to start the day in my conservatory watching the day begin, even if there’s not much colour in the sky. Today I was treated to this. I left soon after to do an early grocery shop at Sainsbury’s and the sky on the way there was even more lovely.

But from there it went downhill. The rain started and kept at it ALL day! Dark and wet! It’s a good thing I took this picture as it was the only one I took ALL day!

I had a nice and unexpected visit from a friend when I got home. She stayed for coffee. And then I went to see friends for lunch and stayed at theirs all afternoon. We hadn’t seen each other for months so we had lots of catching up to do and they fed me well. I was also entertained by their 14 year old son who showed me one of his magic card tricks. I was bowled over by it and have NO idea how he did it!

When I got home I caught up with today’s cross-country skiing from Seefeld in Austria. Today’s race was a sprint with several heats, a semi final and then a final. It’s not my favourite of the different kinds of cross-country races, but the women’s race was particularly exciting today: Not only was there a TIE for first place, but one of those places went to a US skier - Sophie Caldwell (the other was Switzerland’s Laurien Van Der Graaff). Since the sport is dominated by skiers from the Nordic countries, it’s very exciting to see a win from someone on the American team, who have been improving so much in the last year! Apparently, the US has not won an Olympic cross-country skiing medal since 1976, so I’m hoping for good results from them at the Olympics next month!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.