An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

The hills are alive...

We were up and off out fairy sharp this morning to meet our friend Ian for breakfast at Craigend Nursery near Cumbernauld.  

Ian is off work at the moment recovering from a serious illness and it was great to see him looking so well.   We had a lovely catch up and a delicious breakfast before heading home.

David headed to Perth to get a new crate for Lola.  Extra large!  He took it out of the box and assembled it and I swear it looks like a lion's cage.  It's enormous!  We did debate on whether to get another crate as Lola sleeps quite happily of her own accord in the boot room during the day with only the odd nibble of the skirting board.  Also if we go out during the day we leave her in the boot room so on one hand it seems daft to buy another crate just for night time sleeping.  But she does love it and trots in quite happily at bedtime so we shall keep her den for a little while longer.

Alan's support worker Ally surprised me as she was leaving at the end of her shift earlier.  She gave me a belated birthday present of a bottle of Ophir Oriental Spiced Gin (never had it so looking forward to tasting it), a beautiful bunch of flowers (future blips :-) and two beautiful pashminas from Monsoon.  She said she couldn't decided which one she thought I'd like best so bought both!  

I am so touched by her kindness and a little embarrassed, as there was absolutely NO need for her to buy me anything!  I certainly wasn't expecting it!  She is such a kind hearted girl.  

In my rummage through old photos at the weekend I found two of Alan and David that made me smile (in extras).  The piano photo was taken in February 1999 ( Alan two and a half years old) and the second one was taken in May 1998 ( Alan 21 months old).

Looking at these photos I find myself shaking my head in amazement at how quickly the time has passed.  The fact they were taken almost 20 years ago is mind blowing to me.  

I feel compelled to implore anyone looking at my blip who has young children to soak up every second of their childhood.  Don't think about yesterday or tomorrow, focus your mind 100% on each day and the little person in front of you, because as each second passes they are changing and growing and soon these little people will be grown up and you too will be shaking your head in disbelief.

Lullabye 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.