The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Boys on the burial chamber

Ok, I'll admit it. This picture was taken on Sunday. But I have been travelling all day today, and my yellow taxis at Schipol shot was ruined by a telegraph pole!

So, here are the younger two of my nephews, Cormac (in red) and Duncan, playing on a burial chamber near Rolde. Cormac has just taken a big leap and is leaning on Duncan to regain his balance, rather than trying to push him off.

When I suggested this school reunion, I actually thought we would be spending a few days in Amsterdam! I really left it to others to do the thinking. So, when I realised we would be in Rolde most of the time, I contacted my brother in Geesteren (Steve and I stayed there in late October 2013, and blipped the area).

The upshot was that brother Ruaraidh, his wife Sandra and their three boys came over to Mandy's, and Duncan played M's guitar, which pleased her because she hasn't played it for years! Then we all went for a circular walk, which took in a sheep-and-wool centre, the fake stone circle I blipped yesterday, these (real) burial chambers, and a church. I can't quite get over a couple of things:

The ground is sandy in many places because the country is at sea level;

Heather is a protected species! In Scotland, there's so.much of it that it gets burned off the hillside!

After the walk, we all had tea and cake, and Ruaraidh played the bagpipes, by request. I thought I had shot a video of him, but apparently not! Oops. I told him that if he was going to be the Piper at my funeral, I'd like him to play The Green Hills of Tyrol. But it's a march! Are retreat marches ok at funerals? (I'm not planning on dying soon, I just have a slight fascination with funeral arrangements).

Haidi went off with Ruaraidh and family, to catch a train from Assen, and Elspeth and I played Scrabble twists and turns ( a new game for me). Amazingly, we were all in bed by 1 am, and we alk drank plenty of water alongside the sparkling wine/ beer/wine/gin/tea!

I shall miss Mandy's amazing cooking and hospitality, but Monday is/was departure day.
Au reservoir, Netherlands!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.