... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Egyptian Geese: family photo (... almost).

Back blip.
Better in large ("L").
Alas, one (poor) fledgling is not in shot; it is still isolated from the rest... For scale, the mother (at the left) is closer than the others, and looks deceptively large; the father (to her right) is larger than her in reality, and is in line with the fledglings... I like all the various bird shapes on the island.
I'm sorry that I was unable to give an update yesterday, but I was busy all day, and Blip wouldn't load when I got home... Argh.

I will describe my rescue attempt (...) in the form of "There is good news and there is bad news...".
The bad news is that I failed, and the fledgling is still in exactly the same bound state.
The good news is that despite its condition, it turns out it is quite capable of flying impressively...

I went with a bread roll (necessary evil: they'll eat, but aren't lured by, the goose food I found), and managed (eventually) to position myself between the fledgling and the water; I thought I was sorted then, so pushed it gradually away from the pond to give myself enough ground to chase it down. It edged down into a dip behind the pond, and I had it isolated from the others, but when I ran to catch it (with my towel ready) it bounced a few times, flapping its wings, and took off and flew (adeptly) to the island.
To say I was surprised would be the understatement of the millennium; not only did it fly, but it took off from land (with its legs bound) and flew up high over a tree, and looped around to land neatly on the water next to the island.

Meh. At least it isn't as behind the others (development-wise) as I feared.
Sob.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.