... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

NHM: Sequoia and ceiling panels HDR

Looks less messy in large ("L").

Another unconventional angle...
I didn't take many photographs today; I took this bracketed series just before 3PM (my first pictures of the day!), and the only other photos I took were on my way out of the museum when the central hall was quite surprisingly dark. There is potential there: there atmosphere is rather different when it's dark...

Anyway, this HDR image shows two panels which depict the polar extremes on my personal plant-product preference scale: Coffea arabica is just to the left of Nicotiana tabacum. I love coffee, and rather wish tobacco didn't exist... The Sequoia section shown at the bottom left is absolutely fantastic "in person": it is a cross-section through a Giant Sequoia which was more than 1,300 years old when it was cut down... The scale of it is quite remarkable. I shall have to try to do it justice photographically one day.

I'm going to try (v. hard) to free the fledgling again tomorrow morning (if someone hasn't already managed)... Wish me luck!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.