Yew Tree

What a wet and muddy day it's been!
The rain was so heavy it woke me up last night. And then kept me awake as I lay there worrying that Miss E's car door was wide open.
When she gets out I'm often faffing with Miss L - and the hundreds of bags, coats and sundries we bring back from school - and don't notice whether she's shut her door or not.
The times she hasn't haven't mattered before but I had visions of going out this morning to a car full of water!
Luckily she had.
Because you notice I wasn't worried enough to be bothered getting out of my warm bed and out into the dark, pouring rain!!
This morning I was late leaving for Waddesdon to meet Mrs K (who has started to Blip just before she leaves us for pastures new!!) and I was horrified to see the worst flood blocking the road out of the village I've ever seen. Now I'm in a titchy little car I'm less gung-ho about such things but - Mr K stop reading now - the detour would have taken me ages so I took a deep breath, splashed in and hoped for the best. About two thirds of the way through the car started juddering and I had a sinking feeling I may have made a dreadful mistake. So I changed gear and put my foot down and pretty much sailed the rest of the way!
Phew!
Waddesdon was fab - the kids got soaked and filthy and had cake and ice cream, Mrs K and I had lots of lovely tea and cake, and I had a fishfinger sandwich..... And it really is glorious in the Autumn sun.
When I pick Miss E up from school she always has ten or twenty minutes running on the field and climbing the trees with her friends before we come home. Tonight Miss L joined in and there was much rolling around in mud and jumping in puddles.
The first load - including coats!! - is in the washing machine and the Little Misses will shortly be plonked in the bath.
Who wants a clean car and house anyway?!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.