Mystery vegetable

Usual trip to Morrisons this morning.  The weather was bitterly cold with a strong wind.    I ventured out again this afternoon to post a letter but I made sure I was well wrapped up.  I was supposed to go to the match this evening but I chickened out as I didn't fancy sitting at St James Park slowly turning into a block of ice.  Much better to stay at home in the warm and listen on the radio. 

The match has just finished and the score was 1 -1.  So disappointing as Newcastle were ahead for a while. They also missed a penalty. Apparently  Newcastle have not won a Wednesday evening Premiership match for 6 years.  Well that record still stands. And its 8 home games this season without a win.  The team just isn't good enough.  We really need a good striker. Time will tell what happens in the rest of the season.  Its hard to be hopeful.

Can you guess what the vegetable is in my blip shot?  Its one I hadn't heard of until they arrived in my organic veg box last Friday.  They are OCA.

Oca -  a Peruvian potato-like vegetable with a lemony punch. Its grown on the French farm - planted in March they grow steadily through the summer before swelling into edible tubers in late autumn. They are Peruvian in origin, but are commonly known as New Zealand yams and are used much like potatoes in both countries. They can be eaten raw or cooked, and are characterised by a distinct lemony taste that lessens with cooking. They look like a cross between a gnarled radish and a Jerusalem artichoke. They can be fried, boiled, steamed, deep fried or roasted. It loses its bright pink colour during cooking.

I roasted some of my oca to have with my tea - you can see  what they look like after cooking in my blip shot.  I enjoyed them - sort of like a slightly lemony potato.  Very tasty.

Steps today - 8,894

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.