Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Supermoon, Blue Moon, Wolf Moon

All three names apply to tonight's full moon - and in some parts of the world it's a blood moon too. I decided to go for a dusk walk at Ferry Meadows in the hope of seeing the moon rise, but as there was quite a lot of cloud in the north-east I wasn't very optimistic of my chances. I'd almost given up hope when a huge orange ball appeared through the cloud veil, over the roof of the boat house on the opposite side of the lake. It was so beautiful, it almost took my breath away. It continued to be stunning as it rose into the sky (see extra) , producing twinkling orange reflections on the lake.

And even if the cloud had obscured the moon, my trip wouldn't have been wasted because I had a very close view of a long-tailed duck which was bobbing around rather incongruously among a small group of tufted ducks. Long-tailed ducks are winter visitors to UK waters, breeding in the tundra, but they're most usually found on the coast, when they can form large flocks offshore. I saw some very distant ones last January in Norfolk, but this is only the second bird I've ever seen inland. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.