Skip's Blips

By Skip

Bluejay surveying the backyard buffet

I didn't have time or the inclination to bundle up and take a long walk today, so I settled for blipping birds through the kitchen window. This handsome bluejay was my most colorful visitor this morning. I recently read something interesting about bluejays . They aren't really blue. Something about the way the light is reflected by their feathers is what creates the appearance that they are blue. I have no idea how that works, so maybe I need to do a little more research. However, I was also surprise to read that Eastern bluebirds, one of my favorites and a very beautiful bird, in my opinion, has the same characteristic.  Apparently the blue is in the eye of the beholder. What a blessing to be able to enjoy their beauty. I posted more backyard visitors here today. Take a look if you would like.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.