Skip's Blips

By Skip

Standing Mitt with Ball

Today I visited the Cleveland Museum of Art with my friend Marti... a great place to spend a chilly, overcast afternoon. While there I downloaded the amazing new ArtLens app. By downloading the app to my iPhone, I was able to locate artists and art works by name, click on a heart to select "favorite" pieces,  and then download photos and information about my favorites to my phone. ArtLens also provides a map to the museum and the added benefit of extra interpretive content for many of the works. As if that weren't enough, I could use the app to tour the museum by following tours created by the museum staff or other visitors. I could even create my own tours and save them to the app for future visits! (I didn't try that today however. Next time!) I was so fully occupied playing with the ArtLens that I only took a few pictures! 

Today's blip is Marti, standing next to an oversized baseball mitt for size comparison. Created with steel, lead, and wood by American artist Claes Thure Oldenburg in 1973, it was donated to the museum in honor of George Gund III by Agnes Gund. In case you wonder how I remember all that information, I saved it to the ArtLens App on my phone! If you ever have the opportunity to visit the museum, please be sure to stop in the ArtLlens Gallery and experience this unique new way to tour the museum.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.