La Fhéile Bride

It is of course St Bridget's Day, the start of the Celtic Festival of Imbolc and the first day of Spring! In between the occasional downpour of hail the sun has been shining. I had to nip into Bantry and decided to pop into the library where they were doing all day Bridget cross making activities. Well I was the only customer at this point and I did warn the librarian that I was truly terrible at this. Awful memories of a class full of children, each one with a collapsing cross in their hands and the teacher's worse than anyone's!  She was exceptionally patient and encouraging (excellent customer services Michael!) but I have to confess each time I looked at my cross I just collapsed in giggles, it was so terrible.

Anyway, back home I gathered myself, and some rushes and made a slightly better job. Ah - the postbox. Check the tag for the ongoing decor. I have to confess this is my handiwork - including the cross, not too bad? What will develop?? Here's an article that might enlighten you about St Bridget's Day if you haven't a clue what I'm on about: St Bridget

And of course it's the start of International Holy Well Month/Year! I know of at least two blippers who are nearly as excited as me! Should you blip a well in the next year please tag IHW18.

This entry went off before I was ready so apologies for that. Other than that a mouse is nibbling behind the olive oil jar, a fox has its nose pressed against the window and our ancient cat has somehow managed to get  up on top of a book case and pooed.

Happy St Bridget's Day. We're off to see the film about Churchill. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.