Snowstorm!

Normally I take weather warnings with a pinch of salt but it's not so often we get a "Class 2" warning so we stayed home yesterday and today when the real storm arrived we were very glad we didn't have to go anywhere. The snow from this storm is mostly thigh or waist deep, but in one or two places it's blown away entirely, and in other places it's deeper.  This is the veranda at the back of of Betty's, and it's about 2 meters deep! Usually I have to go to the mountains to see this type of snow sculptures.
It took me about 45 minutes to tramp and dig my way the 50 metres from our house to Betty's. Why did I bother. Our woodpile is under this roof, just behind me, and supplies were running low in the house. It's good to have some wood in the main house in case the electricity goes off, though the temperature is not cold, around freezing.  I also spent another 45 minutes snow bashing round the house to the cellar to get to our long-life milk supply so we could have porridge for our brunch. :-)
Later in the day we took a short walk through the village where the road has turned into a narrow canyon between walls of snow. Our neighbour was just scraping the ice off his car so he could drive the 4 km to the school and pick up the village's kids, as the school bus didn't run today.   school!  The trains and busses are all cancelled today and I don't think the post came, though that's hard to tell as the post boxes are buried under the snow! HarlingDarling also blipped on the snow storm if you want more pictures, and there is an extra of our neighbour in his machine!
I admit I do enjoy this weather! These very unusual conditions give me a real adrenalin rush! However, if this is a class 2 storm then if there's ever a class 3 warning I'll be retiring to the cellar for the duration!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.