The Quickening Of The Year

Today is Imbolc the midpoint between winter solstice and spring equinox, marking the earth’s wakening from cold and the start of lambing. It's also known as the quickening of the year. I first came across the word quickening when I was pregnant, it is used for when a pregnant woman first feels her baby moving - literally coming alive.


I've come alive this evening as I've broken my Dry January alcoholic drink fast. MrQ and I shared a bottle of bubbly and I've had a small glass of the silver birch sap wine that my sister bought for me for Christmas. It doesn't have much flavour but is pleasantly fresh. I took it to the North Metropolitan Orchid Meadow in the Lee Valley Park to photograph it as the walkway is surrounded by silver birches.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.