The Artist's Eye

By ArtistAnnie

At Intermission

Today I went with the Friends of the WWU Library down to Seattle to attend a Seattle Symphony concert at Benaroya Hall. This photo is the lobby at intermission time. The sun finally came out and made great shadows on the walls. You know me. I love shadows.

I met my friend Shelly and we sat together on the bus. As before we didn't stop talking the whole way down and back. This is a good thing as I love to talk and listen. When we got to Seattle we met another friend Charlie and had lunch with him at the Brooklyn. As we talked Charlie shared all kinds of information about growing up in China. Shelly talked about his years in California and gradually it dawned on both of them that one of Shelly's good friends in California is Charlie's sister. How cool is that! After lunch the three of us walked up to the hall and settled in our seats that were not together. 

The first piece on the program was D'un Matin de Printemps by Lili Boulanger. I wondered if she was related to the famous French teacher, Nadia Boulanger. Turns out she was her sister. I really liked the piece, very French impressionist in style. 

Next we heard Edward Elgar's Violin Concerto in B minor. The violinist was Vilde Frang from Oslo, Norway. She looked like she might be about 15 years old, but no, 31. I guess that young people are looking younger as I get older. She played a gentle and graceful solo. Honestly it was not my favorite piece ever but her playing was elegant.

Last was Rachmaninov's 3rd symphony. That also was not a favorite. I hadn't heard it before and was not thrilled with the way the music jumped around from loud rhythmic parts to more lyrical parts. That being said, I still had a great day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.