Here there and everywhere

By digitaldaze

Cairo Entranceway

Practical things today: we superglued the toilet this morning; fingers crossed it will still be holding when we get back tonight. We bought a new bedside lamp for my side of the bed and it's a match for one we brought before and is now in Barcelone, so that's good. It may be blipped on a blip-challenged day! I rediscovered the lovely bio shop in Zamelek and bought some lavendar oil and some 'ethyl alcohol' in a spray from the chemist, so I can add a few drops and spray some on our pillows. Undercovercairo introduced me to this shop and there was a young guy in there when we were browsing tonight who spoke English and told us that the owner always buys the best of oils. Good to know. I hope it wasn't his grandson drumming up business! He advised me to buy the ethyl alcohol spray and coconut oil as a carrier for body use. I also bought an Om Kalthoum 'print' on a wooden block from the same shop - a bargain at 3 euros! Oh, and another piece of cloth to cover things in our bedroom. Last, but not least, we bought Bb a replacement gallabaya: white of course.

All of this (well perhaps not gluing the toilet) was very pleasantly achieved while wandering round Zamelek, noticing any changes, including a new place called Gringos, which we'd like to try out. Gringos is the affectionate name (at least I've always heard it used it in an affectionate way) for foreigners in Brasil.

We're now in La Trattoria Italian, an old favourite.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.