Onwards and upwards....

By Yana1

1197. A Year With My Camera Homework - Week 5

A very busy day today starting with a return to the gym...just a swim for me and then into town for the usual family lunch get together.  Followed by shopping for clothes with my granddaughter....who took forever to buy one pair of jeans and two tops....how hard can it be?  We also managed to find her a birthday present...two pretty silver friendship bracelets which she chose herself which will now be put away until her birthday in March....we will get her a wee surprise too but I wanted to make sure she had something she really wanted!

Back home and hubby was watching the rugby...and shouting constantly at the TV...a disappointing result for Scotland but the Welsh played very well.

I sat in the kitchen working through week 5 of the "A Year With My Camera" course and took some photos for the homework ready to post on the FB page.   I never use manual settings on my camera but have often been frustrated by the Auto settings giving a very shallow depth of field when photographing jewellery....so straight on to manual....set the f stop to f/11, ISO to the lowest my camera will do, 125 and then used the 10 second timer because the shutter speed then set to 1/4 of a second...and hey presto a photo with everything I wanted in focus with no grain either...a great result for me....I don't think you can see the differences unless you're really zoomed in on the image but I was pleased that the whole stone was in focus and the shank was clearer on manual too....if I can remember all this I will certainly try and do this again.....

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.