dreaming

By dreaming

Some color on a very grey day

I stopped at Endless Weekend's house to check on her plants, and thought I'd blip her poinsettia, which has grown and thrived since she bought it in December.  I had never seen a red and white one before, and think this is so pretty.

Today was my volunteer day and, as I had last week, I worked with a man from Honduras who has been in the US for eight years but is still taking pretty basic ESL classes.  He brings in his homework - last week writing a simple paragraph, this week writing sentences using comparative terms.  I think he is very shy, but works hard.  Then I spent an hour with my Vietnamese man, who now brings copies of newspaper articles to read aloud.  Today we learned that Seattle is the sixth (out of 267 measured) most expensive place to live in the US - not just for housing, but in several other areas as well.  We pay a lot more for haircuts, for example, and for frozen corn.  Who knew?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.