Life through the lens...

By ValC

Ancestors

Thank you for all your comments on yesterday's blip.
It seems many of you were interested in my research into my ancestors.
It all started a couple of years ago when I typed into Google the name of one of my mother's Cornish uncles.
 Then thanks to the website " Geni", and a distant relative who lives in the US. ( someone I don't know )
They have done all the research. I just look things up along the way.
I  ( they) have got back as far as 1175, and my 20th great grandfather and come to a halt.
They may have been French, and came over in 1066 or just afterwards.
This however is an effigy of my 17th Great Grandfather, 
Sir Mauger (St Aubin) de St Aubyn  ( abt. 1254   -  abt. 1294)
 It is in the Church of St George, Georgeham, Devon.
His wife was Isabella de Pidekeswell. I think the village is now called Pickwell.
Rumour has it that in 1170 Thomas Becket's murderers fled to Pickwell only to be beheaded on the lawn of the manor house.
Not sure MrC believes me!!
I find history so interesting now, although I hated it at school.
Must be an age thing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.