Ninekirks

This is the first time I've blipped this little church. It's called St Ninian's and is over a mile up hill and down dale from the A66. You access it on foot. Little did we realise that the footprints we kept finding on the muddy field would be those of Bimbo and Stustod who had been here yesterday! They were probably there while I was telling The Man I fancied going!

I used to live at Clifton in my early 20s which has Ninekirks and Brougham Chapel in its parish. We once came to a service here but neither of us can remember much about doing the long walk (in churchy sort of shoes).

There used to be an ancient village here but it was demolished by the owner of Brougham Castle to create a hunting park. Such a lot of history dating back to the Roman fort of Brocavum. Too much for me to recount here.

Thank you, SpotsOfTime, for reminding me about the Parish of Clifton when you visited Brougham chapel recently!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.