The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Dredging with Warp and Weft

The sun shone this morning, on my birthday.
I opened some lovely presents and cards of a bookish nature, and pottered. I was determined to stay upright all day, as part of my rehab into everyday working life.

The postie brought more packages, then I set off to catch the bus to my teaching place. Unfortunately it was on time, and sailed past long before I could reach the stop! So I walked along the canal towpath in bright sunshine. There was a dredger (Weft, I think) working in Bowbridge lock, with Warp moored further up. I blipped Weft in the lock around new year, but hadn't seen Warp before. Between them and the big orange crane on the bank, which I've also blipped before, they've dredged the whole of the stretch that I walked, about a mile.

Teaching wasn't much fun, but the rest of the day's been good. I even went out to a poetry book launch! Now it's nearly midnight and I must go to bed. Work tomorrow...

PS the grass really was a weird colour. The verges are soft, having been re-built after dredging, and re-seeded.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.