KEEP OUT!

Dear Diary,

Some people take their privacy very seriously!  These amazing constructions are at the end of a private road and send a very clear message.  They are quite clever, made out of scrap metal and welded together and, as you can see, they are very big.  This sort of roadside art is rather common around here; this is about 15 minutes from my house.  Some examples are much better than others; this is a rather fine example I think.

I am a bit of a private person as well.  I have always sought out quiet, out of the way places and I feel most comfortable in rural landscapes rather than bustling cities.  I love people but in small doses. 

I do love "outsider art" as it is called, pieces created by untrained artists.  I admire their desire to create and not worry about other people's opinion of it.  This person has quite a bit of skill and a fantastic sense of humor.  It was well worth pulling over to photograph with my little Coolpix.  It is fun to have a pocket camera at the ready for situations like this.  It may not create "fine art" photographs but it captures the moment and the memory just fine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.