Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Stone masons in Mandalay

We started the day back at the U-Bein Bridge. It was very cold and we were delighted to find someone selling coffee in the gloom and nippy conditions.

I loved the early morning here. I walked across the whole bridge and met interesting people. One group of 4 young women from the USA were Christian missionaries, working with a local church for 3 months. They seemed remarkably naïve about the political situation, but wanted to pray for me.

Then two students approached to talk with me in English. They were cousins and both at the local university. I was careful to speak slowly and clearly. Soon we were joined by a huge number of students, crossing the bridge in a great flow of humanity. They had been out walking since 0500 as part of a training programme. They will go on a mountain challenge near Bagan so needed to be fit!

During the day we visited a Jade Market and the Artisan Quarters in Mandalay. In my blip you see one of the stone masons workshops. The dust and noise were terrific and we saw no one wearing a mask or ear defenders!

There was so much to take in today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.