Destinations

Busy day today!
I had a taster session first thing at Buckingham library. It was one of the best sessions I've had with very engaged Mummies and cute babies. 
I'd had visions of myself singing to myself in an empty library but we filled a side room and I thoroughly enjoyed it!!
Mr K picked me up - he seems to be having a working from home week which is lovely! - and it was home to get changed and head to Milton Keynes with my mum and dad to get the train to Kensington Olympia for Destinations.
Throughout my twenties and early thirties I had pretty itchy feet and did a lot of travelling. And I was a travel agent (having answered an advert on my return from my post university round the world trip which asked 1. Do you have a degree? Are you well travelled? Do you want to be a travel agent?
Two out of three, I thought I'd give it a go!!!)
So I've been to Destinations a few times before but not for years and I was very excited to go back. Olympia is such a beautiful venue. The Victorian NEC!!
It was fun going on the train with my mum and dad. We do like an outing!!
We had a lovely day. I had worried that I'd find it depressing seeing all the places that I can't go but it was fine. I focused on Iceland and cruises!!
I took a backpack with me for all the brochures and it soon weighed a ton.
I entered a couple of competitions so hopefully later in the year I'll be off on an Iceland and Greenland adventure with Hurtigruten and then to Botswana with the family courtesy of Exodus. Excellent!!!
We were amongst the last to leave when the show closed and got the train home. It seemed to take forever!! My dad - who is a rail geek - kept talking about being "behind a yellow" or a "double red" or some other technical rail terms! 
Whatever it was we were going bloody slowly!
Until Wembley then we started zooming along thankfully.
Home to look at all my brochures and dream.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.