Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Fireplace

Our church Men's Group had a tour of Callendar House in Falkirk this afternoon. I've visited here many times, but there is always something new to see - whether one of the many temporary exhibitions or just something either in the building itself or in the permanent exhibitions that hasn't caught my eye before.

The current temporary exhibition, which runs until May, is called FE: Iron and focuses on the iron founding history of the area and its impact on the wider world. I've included a photo from that as an 'extra', as it was another feature that I noticed as if for the first time today - the fireplace in what is now the tearoom.

After our tour, we stayed for on for coffee and I was struck by these figures (main photo) at either side of the grand fireplace in the tearoom. Don't know whether or not they are original or were added when the room was refurbished a couple of years ago but, either way, I think they are quite impressive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.