Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Larbert Loch

I had decided earlier in the week that I would do my main 'recce' for next week's Ramblers walk (which I am due to lead) on Friday, so I was delighted that I woke up to a bright, sunny morning.

Off I set with bag packed with flask and sandwiches, map and instructions, the latter two items supplied by our Wednesday walks organiser, and with high hopes that this would be a relatively straightforward walk around Plean Country Park and then via the Tappoch Broch and Torwood Castle to Larbert. The plan was to end our walk in the cafe at Forth Valley Royal Hospital and take the bus back to Plean.

All went well for the first part of the walk. Many of the paths were very muddy but, other than that, accessible enough. However, on reaching the woodland stretch of the walk, at Tor Wood, I discovered red and white tapes across the access paths and signs saying "Path Closed. No public access due to forestry operations." A change of plan was called for.

Thankfully, the map indicated an alternative route was possible via a farm track. We'd need to miss out the wood and the broch, but this path would enable us to visit the castle and still join up with our original route.
Unfortunately, about a kilometre further on at the castle, there was a closed gate bearing a similar sign. Forestry Operations 1 : 0 Ivar.

Nothing else for it but to retrace my steps back to the road, walk down into Torwood village and call it a day. I caught a bus to the hospital, had a coffee and a scone (the sandwiches and flask of tea long having been consumed) and then took a bus back to Plean and walk to the car park.

While at the hospital I remembered there were walks around the grounds. I decided to recce them another day, as it was now beginning to get dark, but they might be the solution to my unplanned and shortened walk. A few photos of Larbert Loch later I decided it hadn't been a wasted day after all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.