The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Apocalypse

The blip choice today was the Sandside black swan or this... I think the black swan might be around for a few days more yet. The photographers were gathered in force on Arnside Pier this afternoon, maybe they knew there was going to be something special. Certainly it was apparent an hour before this that it was not just another Arnside evening, there was a bank of cloud stuck half way across the estuary, and the sun had dropped into the gap between water and cloud.

I went home to feed Bob the Cat, and to see if Eduardo had arrived. I debated for a while whether to go back out again, thinking the cloud might have swallowed up the sky. But I thought I would give it a try, just in case. I'm glad I did. An average Arnside sunset is pretty good, but there are a few days in the year when the sunset is sublime. This was one.

This is one occasion when ideally one would blip the whole sequence , as the sun melted into the lower layer of cloud and the cloud blanket gradually coloured up.

Have a good weekend everyone, and thankyou for all the hearts and stars for yesterday's.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.