Waterlogged

It feels good to be able to report that today has been very productive. Things have gone smoothly at work and, for once, I'm actually ahead of where I was expecting to be at the end of the week. The formula for a successful day was taking a run first thing, followed by a cycle into work. I hadn't intended to cycle in but from the vantage point of the moor I spotted a cloud bank pooled in the valley to the east. I find the combination of sun and mist impossible to resist so I had to go and explore the blip opportunities.

As it turned out the fog was not of the right kind. It was actually too dense. There is definitely an optimum saturation for photography. Today's was just a bit too thick! You can just about see the banks of cloud in the distance. It wasn't long before they rolled in like a big wave and visibility was reduced to a few tens of feet. Almost exactly a year ago I took a shot (here) from the same place (this one was taken looking through the bars of the closed gate) and the difference is staggering. The ground then was parched dry. It is now thoroughly waterlogged.

I dragged Forrest out for a run tonight. He was a bit hungover but I advised that it would be good for him. The best cure for a hangover is brisk run! I'm not entirely sure he's convinced. Anyway, I got my revenge this evening. I actually managed to out-sprint him, but I suspect that this might be the very last time I ever get the chance to do that. If he sticks at the training he'll soon pass that magic threshold when it suddenly becomes easy and fun rather than a hard grind. He'll look back and be amazed that the old man was actually able to beat him just a few months before. I relish that moment. Throughout my racing career I've always trained with people faster than me. I love that challenge of pushing myself hard. It will be great when I have to do that with my own son. It's certainly time!

Have a great weekend folks.

PS Youngest son has blipped from the Iguazo Falls on the Argentinian/Brazilian border, the last one from a helicopter here. It's worth a look.

PPS I've never been diligent enough to keep a training diary, so I think I'll post the times of our runs together on my blip. It will chart Forrest's progress ... and my decline! Tonight's circuit (of 2 and a bit miles) was run in 16.36.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.