Comfort Food

Dear Diary,

More snow in the night and I woke up to a terrible sight.  My computer was sitting in a puddle of water!  The roof must have leaked in the night right on the desk and the laptop!  I was able to dry it all off and miraculously it is up and running.  What a relief.  The leak seems to have stopped but this is a huge problem for sure.  I'm not sure how it will be dealt with with all this snow.  Sigh...

So I am in need of some comfort food and that, of course, got me thinking of my grandmother.  She was what she called a "plain cook", no fancy dishes but everything was cooked with love and attention.  In the collage she is sitting on our back porch with her foot gently resting on my dachshund.  It was a big cookout with lots of people and Nepco always got quite agitated in crowds.  She felt more secure under Gram's foot for some reason.

I also took a page from her cooking notebook with her notations on equivalents.  I've used it many times myself, especially for old recipes which were less precise in measurements.  I could use a nice hot bowl of her delicious oatmeal this morning, sprinkled with cinnamon sugar...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.