Cr055ie

By Cr055ie

Curlew in Flight

Well I went out this morning.  A real heavy frost so I was hoping for a few white and bright landscapes.  I even took my wide angle lens and tripod to have a play.  

Parked at my first River scene spot and decided to leave the kit on the passenger seat and walk around to collect rather than struggle out the drivers side with it.  So happy I did, I walked at the front of Phils car and did a fantastic impression of Bambi.  Slipping and sliding all over the sheet ice.  I landed unceremoniously on the ice hurting my hand, the only park of my body not covered with several layers of clothing.   I got a couple of shots but was too high up for the wide angle to get a point of interest in the foreground really. 

Then drove to Saltfleet and  Theddlethopre dunes but never got out of the car the rain had started to fall and the site has a distinct lack of cover.  On the way home I decided to use Phil's car for what it was  meant for and  pulled in at Saltfleet Haven.  The last time I was there the road was so bad it was like off roading, just what Phil's little Freelander was designed for.  I still was planning on having a go a landscapes capturing the little boats  moored on the river  so had the camera set in aperture priority.  Shame really because there were some beautiful birds down there. Mainly teal ducks, red shanks and curlews.  I was delighted when I got home to see how well I had capture the curlew in flight.  I have a succession of photographs from flying in to landing, but  they all are not as crisp as I would have liked and maybe would have been in shutter priority.  Ah well, still a nice set and at least I have  got myself out of auto again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.