The View from Hungerford Bridge

What a busy day I've had today!!
I dropped the Little Misses off at school and then headed off across the fields with Archie.
Everywhere was frozen solid so it was easier walking than the normal mud! Archie was hilarious with the frozen puddles (see extras). He cracked through the ice and jumped a mile, then he kept prodding this weird new ground with his paws and nervously jumping backwards, then coming back for more. Then he tried to eat big bits of ice and was clearly bemused by the fact it kept breaking and disappearing. So funny!!
Then it was home to drop Archie off before heading to Brackley to meet Mrs R at The Green Room for a late breakfast. I had avocado on sourdough toast with poached egg. I may be addicted to avocados!!!
It was lovely to see Mrs R. We mustn't leave it so long!!
It was a shorter get together than normal as I had to get to Bicester in time to meet my mum and get the train to London. She'd got tickets to the recording of Upstart Crow and even though I've never seen it I'm always up for free BBC tickets!
From Marylebone we got the underground to Embankment and then walked over Hungerford Bridge to the ITV studios next to the National Theatre. Apparently the BBC have sold off their studios where they film sit coms for luxury flats now they have to pay ITV to use theirs!
When I lived in Kingston I always used to love that walk. My favourite view in London!!
We got there at about 2pm and there was already a queue forming - despite the ticket validation not being until 4.15pm. We had planned to get some lunch before getting queuing but there's something about a queue - it compels you to join it!
The next four hours were pretty hideous. The queue was in an Arctic wind tunnel and it was bitter. Well below freezing. 
The queue was chaotic - half waiting for an ITV Paul O'Grady show and half of us waiting for Upstart Crow. No-one knew who should be where, tempers frayed, security came. People get so worked up!!!
I did go to the National Theatre a couple of times for some restorative tea, Coronation chicken sandwiches, hot chocolate and crisps. And to hold my hands under the hot water tap until I could feel them again.
Eventually - just as I was losing the will to live - we got into the studios and suddenly it was all worth it!
The sets, the lights, the cameras....... So exciting!
It was the Christmas special they were recording tonight. It was pretty funny and, in parts, very poignant. I loved seeing the filming process. It all runs like clockwork.
There was a brilliant stand up comedian to warm us up and keep us entertained during lulls - Laura Lexx. She was hilarious.
But, even better, Ben Elton was there too and spoke to us a lot about Shakespeare and the writing of Upstart Crow. Lots of talk about cuts, interesting anecdotes about Sit Coms and his experiences at the BBC.  He hasn't lost his edge.
Filming ended at about 10pm and it was time to brave the cold and get back to Marylebone for the train. The river, Embankment and skyline looked so pretty. I love London at night!!
My dad picked us up from the station and then it was the drive back to Buckingham. I was quite sleepy by the time I got there!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.