Jokulsarlon - Iceberg Bay

A beautiful day that worked out so well after the day before, when we experienced blizzards, road closures and had to retreat to a very nice hotel in Klauster.

I've not had chance to seriously choose an image from yesterday - my very ancient MacAir is struggling and Lightroom keeps crashing - so more when I'm home.  At least it's letting me copy images to a new Lightroom catalogue (but only if I'm very gentle with it.)

We visited the ice cave in the afternoon in one of those vehicles with the very huge wheels.  All of my former colleagues from the GA (geographers) would have loved the landscape experience.  I've never seen anything like it!  The terrain we crossed was the part of the glacier you can see beyond the 'berg.  

Finally, despite some suggestions we went onto the beach the sky was looking like another snow storm was heading our way - so we came to our hotel instead - phew!!

Oh and our meal last night was fantastic - really good accommodation, lovely people running the hotel and restaurant - great food and comfy beds and pillows.  What more can anyone ask (plus I slept better last night). 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.