D'aicí enfòra

By chaiselongue

A rare sight

I tried to blip something colourful today, after my gloomy images of the past few days, and took a lot of shots of arbutus berries - bright red and yellow fruit that used to make me think of Christmas trees when I was a child in Libya, and so they still do - but in the end I decided that the unusual sight of raindrops on ripe olives would have to be today's blip. We rarely have rain here and when we do it dries so quickly that I can't remember the last time I saw droplets on the olives. I'll be harvesting these very soon - they're looking good this year.

And in spite of the continuing grey weather my mood is improving too. Although the wine tasting scheduled for last night has been postponed (maybe they thought no one would come out in the rain?), tonight we have a definite date, taking four friends out for a meal to say thank you for all the help they gave us with our party in the summer (one couple letting us take over their garden and summer kitchen for the night, the other couple roasting our lamb). They're always fun, so it will be a cheering evening!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.