Silhouette on a sparkling sea

Madeira is such a colourful island that I'd have been spoilt for choice what to blip if the MonoMonday challenge hadn't influenced an impossible choice. So thank you to host Kanga Zu for the challenge of a silhouette: here is the replica of Christopher Columbus's ship, the Santa Maria, making its way across the sea, east of Funchal harbour. As you will observe, the replica doesn't use sail and windpower, but it does make a great silhoutte.

I've only ever known the first two lines of this traditional historical date's memory rhyme, but have just discovered it's longer:

In fourteen hundred ninety-two
Columbus sailed the ocean blue.
He had three ships and left from Spain.

He sailed through sunshine, wind and rain.
He sailed by night; he sailed by day;
He used the stars to find his way.

A compass also helped him know
How to find the way to go.

Now I think I understand why it's only the first two lines that are worth remembering!

(Gorgeous day - the second where I ve been able to go barefoot in sandals and without  even a jacket, never mind coat! Oh, and I christened my new 'holiday top' at last!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.