Alpine Spring

High in the mountains, as soon as the snow melts Daphne mezereum opens it's buds.  We've had snow here (just) in the last week so it's apt, if coincidental that it is in flower in the garden today.  I last saw it in flower in the Alps on a blipmeet, a day out with Hilary above Solalex (extra pic) a few years ago :-)   My plants are self sown seedlings from a small plant , now lost, that I originally picked up at a plant sale many years ago.

Another grey day, more clearance work in the garden this afternoon and Jacinta rustled up delicious savoury pancakes for tea before I set off to talk to Filby Gardening Club about crocuses and other dwarf bulbs.  The talk went well after a scary attempt to connect my laptop to the hall AV system ..... their chap could not get the display on the wall to match that on my laptop!   Good job I took my own projector as back-up :-)   A nice group in a lovely hall and great to hear this is a new club, set up just three years ago .... and it's thriving.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.