Candles of hope.

When J dropped me off in Cowbridge this morning. my first stop was to visit High Cross church that I visited last week. I got chatting to the verger, and what a lovely man he was. I commented how wonderful the candle holder was, and he told me the very moving story about how this one came about. He had lost a son many years ago and wanted a memorial in his memory. A friend of his told him of a design he had seen in Sweden, and showed him some photographs, and he knew that was exactly what he wanted. He went to a blacksmith's,  and he forged the design for him.The glass holders he bought a few years later. He fills up the candles daily, out of his own pocket, and I noticed on the inscription his son was born on the 25th August which is my birthday. I m so glad I went in today, and had that talk with such a lovely man. I then  walked into town, and I was going to try somewhere different for coffee, but decided to go into the Duke of Wellington again, as I was hoping to sit by the log fire. Unfortunately, someone had got there before me, so  I had to sit further back. I enjoyed my coffee, and then walked around the rest of the town. I met J at the allocated time & place, and we then drove to M & S to do the food shop, and then home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.