a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Bubbles

Thursday already - the weekend is nearly here - hurrah!  Of course, as its Thursday its time for an abstract for the Abstract Thursday challenge hosted by Inge.

I had taken my shot tonight before checking out what others have done on Blip so was surprised to see the Inge has also taken an oil bubbles on water shot - so that is a proper Blipsnap!  Inge has also helpfully given instructions on how to take this sort of shot.

I have effectively followed the same process she mentions.  I've used off camera flash to light the subject below the glass, which has avoided my having too many reflections.  I don't actually have a nice glass tray that I can use, (so that is definitely something to get hold of next time I go shopping).  Instead I have used a large drinking glass.  I could have cropped the shot to remove the edges of the glass that you can see in the corners but I rather like the strange vignette that they add - it makes me think that I am looking down a well or a pipe.

This is the first time I've had a go at this particular sort of shot.  I wouldn't mind having another try at it, to see if I can get "cleaner" bubbles.  I also suspect that it ought to be possible to get the bubbles to act as mini-lenses so that one can see the coloured item in each one.  I imagine that this will depend on the depth of the bubbles (which is affected by the soap in the water, or lack of it) and I would need an ability to raise or lower the background in relation to the fixed tray full of water.  Definitely something to try again in the future - once I find a suitable glass tray!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.