Chinese New Years Eve

Travelling to work the sun was rising, a clear sky. I love mornings like this, although today I have been very much inside, so missed most of it.

A Scrutiny meeting in Manchester this evening. I got there with a  bit of time to spare, so decided to stretch my legs and get some fresh air beforehand (although to qualify that statement, anyone who has seen the air quality data will know that "fresh" is not quite accurate).

The Chinese lanterns are up in Albert Square. The Chinese New Year commences tomorrow, the first new moon of the month in south east Asia, and continues till the lantern festival on March 2nd. I don't know if the Chinese communities here regard today as New Years Day though - our new moon is in advance of Asia's. 

It is the Year of the Dog. This could be an Extreme Dog. The light on the town hall behind it was something special. Somewhere, someone must have been getting very good sunset blips !

I have had a busy evening. J is still down south, so here for her is one of my favourite pieces from the classical year this February - by Stefano Landi (we've got all of L'Arpegiatta's discs, and have seen them a few times) ......

https://youtu.be/g0k3OptSyrs

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.