Tree Row and Fence in the Mist

We've had a big warm-up this week, and on Thursday afternoon, temperatures soared into the 50s and even the 60s in some spots. It felt like springtime! You know what this change in weather also meant: it was time for the great big melt.

I hadn't been to the Arboretum in a while. I've only visited the Arboretum once this year, in fact. When I was headed there one cold morning last week, I was waylaid by a pair of hawks. So on this morning, I decided to try again.

Not many people were out and about. I parked my car in the Arboretum's parking lot and began walking around, when I noticed there was a lovely mist around the tree row along the lane to the president's house, which is adjacent to the Arboretum.

So I strolled over there to get some photos. (Yes, you've seen this lane and tree row before; I love to photograph it in all kinds of weather.) Anticipating wet weather, I had worn my trusty Crocs. I am not sure they were quite enough for the conditions that I encountered, which included melting snow and mud. But I slogged on. (Know this, world: girls in Crocs cannot be daunted!)

I took some photos of the tree row and the lovely fence in mist. I also got some pictures of the lane itself, which you may see in the extras. But then my attention was directed elsewhere. . . .

As I was taking these photos, I suddenly heard the cries of a hawk! I'll bet it was one of the same hawks I saw last week! The last time I saw them, the hawks were sitting at the very top of the first tree on the tree row, right at the corner of Shortlidge and East Park Ave.

So that's where I went, and sure enough, there sat a huge hawk near the top of the tree. As soon as I pointed my camera at it, it took off, flying up Park Avenue toward East Halls. Not only was it crying at this point, it was SCREAMING loudly. I've never heard such a thing!

The hawk turned and came back, landing atop the nearest corner of the new Business Administration building, where it seemed almost to be dancing. It continued screaming all the while, then took off in flight, and disappeared into the trees above campus. Wow, what a show.

So I am sharing these pictures, because I just cannot, will not ever miss the mist show. But I wish I could play you the soundtrack that *I* heard while I was taking them: the wild cries and screams of the Dancing Hawk.

I will tell you this, though: it was a beautiful noise. So my soundtrack song for this set of pictures is Neil Diamond, with Beautiful Noise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.