On the edge

Before I start, this is for Markus’ challenge this week , taken at the top of the Spanish Steps, Rome.

Back to yesterday quickly, I didn’t tell you in my blurb that I saw the Pope as I wanted to surprise you with the extra. But Mr C was getting just a little fraught that I wasn’t with him (and to be fair we did need to go in together to get our tickets). But he’s in his car I said.... you’re in a car?.... no the Pope is. You could see on the large screens that he was going around in his Pope mobile and I was determined to see him. I was only one person back from the barrier and as he came round his car stopped on the corner and two babies were handed to him to kiss and bless. He then passed us, first looking left and then turned to me(us!!.. the crowd) looked at us and blessed us..... I was thrilled and I got to Mr C no problems.

Back to today. We got the metro towards the Trevi Fountain, quite an amazing sight and very busy of people throwing their coins into the fountain. We then walked to and up the Spanish Steps. Walked on to the Pantheon, another wonderful sight to see. From here we wanted to get to the other side of the river to reach an area called Trastevere. So more walking through Piazza Navona and onwards until we managed to pick up a tram to take us across. We stopped for a coffee before walking around the cobbled streets of this area (actually most of Rome is cobbled. Pretty hard going when you are walking all day). A lovely area ruined by graffiti everywhere. I like and admire street art but scribbles on everything is unsightly and unnecessary. We stopped and had an early supper before heading back to the Colosseum to get some shots in the dark. Exhausted, back at the hotel for a soak in the bath before bed.

Lots of extras the oculus (opening) in the pantheon, Spanish steps top and bottom, Trevi fountain, Trastevere, Colosseum at night.

Thank you for dropping by and I still need to do lots of thank yous which, hopefully, I will catch up this weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.