It's not Bryce Canyon...it's Clay Cliffs, NZ!

This amazing place reminded me of Bryce Canyon, in the western USA, which I was lucky enough to visit on John Gravett's photo holiday last summer. It's certainly more like Bryce than anything else I've seen anywhere in the world. Bryce is much bigger, of course, but this was still very impressive. We visited it towards the end of the afternoon; I've included my Editor in the shot to give it scale.
 
Apparently the cliffs were created more than 5 million years ago when the Hawkdun Group sediments were uplifted and tilted by the Ostler Fault; natural erosion has produced the result as seen today.
 
(Note: I remember rainie blipping it some time back with the caption "Arizona" - I can see why!)
 
We'd started the day with a 2-hour round-trip hike from Mount Cook Village to Kea Point; unfortunately we didn't see any keas (apparently not seeing them is the norm) but we did get some nice close views of the mountain. Today's extra was taken on that hike.
 
So - another superb day. We're now on a campsite at Kurow and planning to return to the east coast tomorrow. We've enjoyed fabulous weather these last 2 days but they're forecasting rain for the next 3 days - oh well, I'm sure we'll still have fun!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.