Here and Now

By Mole

LookAbout Lodge

My most verbose blip ever...

Inscriptions on the log rafters :  “ I come here often to find myself; it is so easy to get lost in the world.” (John Burrows). “The light so short, the craft long to learn “ ( Chaucer).

One of my all-time favorite places in the world...and only 2 miles from home. This photo was taken in the ravine behind it https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2401484098871758137

When I returned to the area after living out-of-town for 23 years, I hardly knew a soul outside my few remaining family members, and a few high school friends (most notably my husband to be, and Tookie’s youngest brother, and their partners in crime). So I came to enjoy the fireside concerts by myself. Then I began to hike in this gorgeous park, one of several in the Cleveland  Metroparks' “Emerald Necklace”.

Now the lodge is the site of blips and my nature writing class co-taught by Jenny (my journalling teacher) and Linda (my poetry and non-fiction teacher) with insights provided by Stefanie the naturalist. We had a larger turnout yesterday with some new English students from Hiram College.

The Cleveland Natural Science Club built the lodge in 1938 before the chestnut blight. In 1993 the Cleveland Metro Parks added it to their vast collection.

Here’s a link to a page with a video about the history and a virtual tour of the lodge. https://www.clevelandmetroparks.com/parks/visit/parks/south-chagrin-reservation/look-about-lodge

Please visit my favorite place, virtually, if you have a moment. Happy to share this with you!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.