SkiMe

By SkiMe

MonoMonday Challenge 213 - OOYCZ

Out Of Your Comfort Zone

I took a Portrait Workshop last fall and discovered what I already knew... I am no good at confronting a subject and imposing myself to take his or her picture. I am much too impulsive and free when I take pictures to try and formalize a portrait.  My kids are easy as they are natural performers and close family more or less I can make work, but when friends ask for a picture it can be painful and fear grips me that I will make it work.

When I saw this little lady put on her mother's fur hat I thought, wow!  The light was super and I've been staring at the old Rossignol skis the entire lunch. I stepped up and asked if I could take a picture.

Asking an adult for a photo is one thing, asking an adult for a picture of a child can be tricky. In the end it all worked out being the child of friends of ours (oops, I cheated?) A few pointers from the workshop stuck and I was surprised I found myself asking the little lady to turn her head and to position to find the light coming in the window and in front of my skis. :)

Thanks to KangaZu for hosting this month's MonoMonday!  And thanks to my little model. ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.