a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Out of one's comfort zone

Mono Monday: Out of one's comfort zone

I freely admit that my least favourite sort of photography to have a go at is street photography.  I have a lot of time for those that manage it and do it well, but I am definitely not cut out to be a member of the paparazzi.   

Perhaps its being brought up in Britain, but somehow it seems impolite and intrusive?  I feel like some sort of creepy voyeur when I try it without seeking permission.  But equally, I find walking up to strangers and asking if I can take their photo next to impossible.  

I had only a few minutes at lunchtime today, and grabbed this shot (amongst others) whilst trying to shoot from the hip like a real street photography pro.  I've had to straighten it, but was surprised by how much I'd managed to get in focus and how many of the compositional elements worked.  I don't think its going to be winning any favourites, but it has certainly taken me out of my comfort zone, even if for only my short lunch break.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.