a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Herbie's last resting place

Derelict Sunday:  Herbie's last resting place

I've always had a soft spot for the VW beetle.  Dad's first ever brand new car was a beetle back in (about) 1965. 

I can still remember his collecting the car, with my Mum, Sister and I, dropping off the old Morris Minor it was replacing. Unfortunately my Sister who was 3, suffered from car sickness at that age and she had been ill on the way to the garage.  Apparently the salesman's face was an absolute  picture as he took away the old car complete with the smell of child's vomit (the part exchange price having been fixed previously).

Dad drove us all to Mum's sister's for lunch.  The new car was duly admired by all.  While the adults nattered after lunch my cousin John (who is 8 months older than me) went back out to look a the car with me.  We discovered that if you threw a small stone onto the roof at the back of the car it would slide down the back and bounce of the small light housing above the rear number plate.   It was a very satisfying game.  Unfortunately it also left lots of small scratches on Dad's new paintwork....

I am sometimes amazed that I actually survived that one with no more than a telling off.  Dad really must be a saint!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.