Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Wisley and the Butterflies

Today I went to RHS Wisley for a blipmeet and to see the butterflies in the glass house. Like all good blipmeets the day started with coffee before we headed off to go see the butterflies. It was cloudy and drizzling a bit when we arrived, and the butterflies do like the sunshine so they were not always that easy to photograph, especially if they were hiding behind a leaf in the shadows. 

This is an owl butterfly, the genus Caligo, and they are known for their huge eyespots, which resemble owls' eyes. They are found in the rain forests and secondary forests of Mexico, Central, and South America. I have added a rather bedraggled looking Blue Morpho butterfly as an extra - they flit around constantly and never seem to settle so it was very hard to get a photo of one of these.


There were quite a group of us, some people I had met before and others I met for the first time, and it was lovely to meet them. It was organised by PeterB, and he took a group photo of us so I am sure that will appear on his journal. We had a light lunch in the cafe afterwards and then I went home and gave Murdoch another walk.


Just when I thought it was nearly spring it seems to have turned colder and next week will be icy conditions once again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.