Fear of Falling

Sometimes life puts you ‘out of your comfort zone’ and no matter what you do there is no escape from the feeling of fear, trepidation, anxiety.

Whenever I descend a staircase - irrespective of whether it’s an escalator, spiral wooden staircase, stone steps or metal stairs - I have this overwhelming, irrational feeling that I’m about to slip and fall on my posterior. Maybe it stems from my teenage years when I slipped at a train station landing hard on concrete steps.

This afternoon I met up with a friend who’s been thrown reluctantly into a difficult predicament and I tried to reassure him as he contemplated options in this unfortunate situation out of his comfort zone.

This evening I sat in heavy traffic on the motorway with lorries on three sides of my car putting me out of my comfort zone in my little MX-5.

I sat in the cinema - waiting for the roads to clear - and felt out of my comfort zone sitting alone. The view of Colin Firth on the screen made it bearable.

Finally I made it home to MY comfort zone.. a warm, cosy bed!

Thank you to KangaZu for choosing today’s Mono Monday theme.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.