Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Gold Medal!

Another big day at the NJ AOG Stadium with the Seed-cracking Finals.  And what a seed nail-biter it was!  Seeds were being cracked right and left, hulls tossed to the ground with reckless abandon, an occasional imprecaution muttered...and in the end it was down to Team Cardinal, Team House Finch and Team Blackbird.  Unfortunately, Team Blackbird got spooked and flew off with a seed, resulting in an immediate disqualification from the judges.  Team House Finch had an altercation in the field, which took them out of the lead.  Only Red of Team Cardinal remained unshakable, a true champion.  You have to admit, he has the gleam of a winner in his eye, doesn't he?

Team Black-capped Chickadee is working on their Snatch-n-go routine, having advanced from the semi-finals today.  It will be a tight race between them, Team Titmouse and Team Nuthatch.  I hope to bring you breaking news on the outcome of that event tomorrow.

Even Team Squirrel, who've been remarkably absent during these AOGs, showed up today.  They were working on the Nut Relays, but sadly a fight broke out and the top two athletes were last seen racing into the woods, hurling insults at each other.  Disgraceful!

As we come into the final days of the AOG, reports from around the world continue to flood in.  For the last few days' results, see links below...
2018AOG18
2018AOG19
Let's keep those reports coming in, folks!

Your Intrepid Reporter, signing out for the day...
Debbi

PS:  I decided to keep the D500 for one more day.  I had some fun shooting with it today, but in my heart of hearts, I think I love my full-frame cameras more.  The D500 is wonderfully fast with autofocus and shoots 10 fps, but I really like having a bigger the big image that I get with full-frame.  This is why I rent before making a purchase...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.