Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Sinister Sixteen

Yardbird # 16 had to be the nefarious Brown-headed Cowbird, a creature that is pretty much universally disliked by birders.  I don't share this feeling; I actually like their watery songs and find the males to be particularly attractive.  But, their nesting habits are ... let's just say, appalling.  Like the European Cuckoos, cowbirds are nest parasites.  The female (who can lay up to 24 eggs in a summer) lays one egg in the nest of a smaller bird and then leaves.  What typically happens is 1) the cowbird egg hatches first, and 2) the cowbird baby is much larger than its nest mates.  This frequently results in the smaller babies failing to survive, while the cowbird just eats and grows .. bigger and bigger.  It's not the bird's fault - this is simply the way nature has programmed them.  

Today I got all my errands - and the gym - out of the way early so that I could be home and set up in the hide when the snow started.  Bundled up against the cold and armed with a cup of tea, I hunkered down in my strategically placed hide and had a most enjoyable afternoon.  Loads of birds at the feeders, of course.  I finally got good shots of the sapsucker - I've only gotten her through the window up until today.  And I also got some fun shots of juncos in the snow and starlings being... well, starlings.  

After I'd been out about an hour, I heard a strange noise so I carefully peered through the zippered openings on each side of the hide until I saw...a whole flock of Cowbirds scarfing down seeds.  There was only 1 female in the group, along with a female red-winged blackbird.  And, in typical Cowbird fashion, they spooked and took off only to return cautiously several times.  Lens pointed out one side of the hide and being careful not to move at all, I got my shot.  

All in all, a very fun day.  I'm sitting in front of the fire now, doing this on the Mac, contemplating pouring myself a glass of something red...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.