Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Tiny Thread

Thought I'd change things up today and go totally outside my comfort zone.  When we moved MIL back up to New Jersey several years ago, many of her belongings also came along, including a very old Singer Sewing machine.  We are not sure, but believe it may have belonged to her father who was a tailor.  Anyway...it came complete with these old wooden spools of thread which I find beautiful.  The thread is thicker than what you can find today and is probably all cotton rather than the synthetics that we now find in stores.  And the colors - oh my!

Anyway, technical details ... not many.  I set my tripod up about 14 inches from the end of the sewing table where the spools are mounted and tried several shots using different focal points.  I played around in Helicon to focus stack five images but found that I liked this non-stacked image with the very short depth of field better.  You can decide for yourself - I'll put the stacked image in Extra.  Would love to hear you opinions/thoughts.

Rumor has it that tomorrow will bring more snow/freezing mix to our area so I will probably be back to birds-in-snow photos tomorrow.  But for today, it was fun to play.  Many thanks to wrperry for hosting TinyTuesday!

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.